GOVERNMENT OF FIJI GAZETTE SUPPLEMENT

No. 32 FRIDAY, 20th DECEMBER

2024

[LEGAL NOTICE NO. 99]

CONSTITUTION OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI (Section 92(3))

Ministerial Assignment

To: Mr Sitiveni Ligamamada Rabuka

Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, Environment and Climate Change, Civil Service and Public Enterprises, Information, Immigration, and Policing

WHEREAS, in exercise of the powers vested in me as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji under section 92(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji, I assigned to myself in my capacity as the Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, Climate Change, Environment, Civil Service, Information, Public Enterprises and Veteran Affairs with effect from 24 December 2022, the responsibility for the conduct of Government businesses, divisions and written laws specified in Legal Notice No. 1 of 2023;

WHEREAS, in exercise of the powers vested in me as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji under section 92(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji, I assigned to myself in my capacity as the Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, Climate Change, Environment, Civil Service, Information, Public Enterprises and Veteran Affairs with effect from 1 August 2023, the responsibility for the conduct of Government businesses, divisions and written laws specified in Legal Notice No. 66 of 2023;

Now Therefore, in exercise of the powers vested in me as the Prime Minister of the Republic of Fiji under section 92(3) of the Constitution of the Republic of Fiji, I hereby revoke with effect from 1 December 2024, all assignments and responsibilities under Legal Notice No. 66 of 2023, and with effect from the same day assign to myself in my capacity as the Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs, Environment and Climate Change, Civil Service and Public Enterprises, Information, Immigration, and Policing, the responsibility for the conduct of the following Government businesses, divisions and written laws (subject to the provisions of any other written law)—

Business

Division

(a) Office of the President Commissions of Inquiry Honours and Awards Office of the President

(b) Office of the Prime Minister

Constitution of the Republic of Fiji

Other minority groups (e.g. Kioa Island,

Melanesian Community)

Rabi Island Affairs

Rotuma and Rotuman Lands

Office of the Prime Minister

Constitutional Offices Commission*

(c) Cabinet Office

Coat of Arms of Fiji Promissory Oaths

Cabinet Office

(d) Parliament

Office of the Secretary-General to

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Parliament*

(e) Foreign Affairs

Aid and Training Development Assistance Diplomatic Relations Foreign Affairs

Marine Spaces (Exclusive Economic Zone)

Treaties and Conventions

(f) Environment and Climate Change

Climate Change Conservation of Environment Protection of Fiji's Natural Resources,

Control and Management of Developments (Waste Management and Pollution Control) Ministry of Environment and Climate Change

Department of Environment Climate Change Division

(g) Civil Service and Public Enterprises

Monitoring of Public Enterprises

Ministry of Civil Service and Public Enterprises Office Accommodation and Housing Unit

Department of Public Enterprises

Public Service Commission*

Ministry of Information

(h) Information

Broadcasting and Print Media Department of Information Media Relations Film Television Unit Radio and Television Information Services Unit Preservation and Repository of Current and National Archives

Historical Documents

Preservation of Books or Documents

(i) Immigration and Policing

Public Order

Deportation Immigration **Passports**

Rehabilitation of Offenders

Ministry of Immigration and Policing

Department of Immigration

Fiji Police Force

[Note: * indicates the responsibilities and is subject to any provision as to the independence

of office]

(j) Responsibility for all written laws regulating the businesses of (a), (b), (c), (d), (e), (f),
 (g), (h) and (i) above including in particular, the following Acts and the subsidiary legislation made thereunder—

Office of the President

Commissions of Inquiry Act 1946

Honours and Awards Act 1995

Office of the Prime Minister

Banaban Lands Act 1965

Banaban Settlement Act 1970

Constitution of the Republic of Fiji

Limitation of Liability for Prescribed Political Events Act 2010

Mahogany Industry (Licensing and Branding) Act 2011

Public Order Act 1969

Public Safety Act 1920

Registration of Skilled Professionals Act 2016

Regulation of Pensions and Retirement Allowances Act 2010

Rotuma Act 1927

Rotuma Lands Act 1959

Cabinet Office

Coat of Arms Act 2015

Coat of Arms of Fiji (Restriction of Use) Act 1972

National Flag Protection Act 2015

Parliamentary Powers and Privileges Act 1965

Parliamentary Remunerations Act 2014

Parliamentary Retirement Allowances Act 1989

Presidential Pensions Act 1994

Prime Minister's Pensions Act 1994

Promissory Oaths Act 1956

Titles of Office Act 1966

Foreign Affairs

Consular Conventions (Administration of Estates) Act 1972

Consular Privileges and Immunities Act 1972

Diplomatic Missions and International Organisations Act 2016

Diplomatic Privileges and Immunities Act 1971

Marine Spaces Act 1977

Special Missions Privileges and Immunities Act 1972

Environment and Climate Change

Climate Change Act 2021

Endangered and Protected Species Act 2002

Environment Management Act 2005

Litter Act 2008

Ozone Depleting Substances Act 1998

Civil Service and Public Enterprises
Airports (Development and Modernisation) Act 2012
Biosecurity Act 2008
Civil Service Act 1999
Dairy Restructure Act 2010
Electricity Act 2017
Higher Salaries Act 2011
Posts and Telecommunications Act 1989
Public Enterprises Act 2019
Sea Ports Management Act 2005

Information
Advertisement Regulation Act 1931
Information Act 2018

Immigration and Policing
Citizenship of Fiji Act 2009
Immigration Act 2003
Passports Act 2002
Police Act 1965
Rehabilitation of Offenders (Irrelevant Convictions) Act 1997

Dated this 18th day of December 2024.

S. L. RABUKA Prime Minister